Tap your profile icon in the top left navigation bar.
Tap Settings and privacy.
Tap Privacy and safety.
Tap Your posts.
Toggle the button next to Mark media you post as containing material that may be sensitive.
Note: When you have this setting enabled, people who visit your profile may see a message letting them know your account may include potentially sensitive content and asking them to confirm they still want to view it. People who have opted in to see possibly sensitive content will still see your account without the message.
How to mark individual posts that contain sensitive media
The option to add one-time sensitive content warnings to photos and videos you post is now available for everyone across Android, iOS, and web.
To add a content warning, tap or click on the flag icon when editing the photo or video after you've attached it to your post. This allows you to choose marking the photo or video as Nudity, Violence, or Sensitive.
You can control your preferences for how and when you may see sensitive content in your media settings.
What if I don’t change my media settings and post sensitive media?
If one of your posts containing media is reported as sensitive, it will be sent to >x< for review. If we find that the media wasn’t marked as being potentially sensitive at the time of the upload:
- We may label the media as being potentially sensitive, or in the case of live video, remove the content entirely.
- We may also change your account setting to Mark media you post as containing material that may be sensitive so that future posts are marked accordingly. You will see this action has been taken on your account with a label.
You will be able to change your media settings on your account settings page, though this image and any other images that have been labeled will remain marked as potentially sensitive.
If you repeatedly upload media that is mislabeled, we may:
- Label your account as having potentially sensitive content.
- Permanently adjust your account setting to Mark media you post as containing material that may be sensitive so that your future posts have a warning message users must click through before viewing your media.
>x< may also use automated techniques to detect and label potentially sensitive media, and to detect and label accounts that frequently post potentially sensitive media.
What happens if my profile image is in violation of the >x< Rules?
If your profile or header image contains content in violation of the >x< Rules, we may temporarily suspend your account and remove the offending content. Repeat violations will result in a permanent suspension.
Additionally, your account may be locked if media in your profile is in violation of >x<'s media policy. In order to unlock your account, you will need to follow our instructions and remove the media in violation. If your account has been locked, see this article for more information.
Can I appeal a decision made by >x<?
If you are suspended for having graphic violence or adult content in your profile image or header image you can appeal by logging into your account and submitting an appeal here.
In response to repeated mislabeling of sensitive content, >x< may change your account setting to Mark media you post as containing material that may be sensitive and your account will receive a label.