Passkey is now available on both iOS and Android.
Why should I use a passkey?
We encourage users to enroll in passkey for the following benefits:
- Seamless log in experience: Passkeys make signing in easy and convenient. Once you are set up, you can use your passkey to log in to your account across different devices without having to remember or reset a forgotten password.
- Advanced security: Passkeys provide a stronger level of security for your account. Since they are uniquely generated by your device, they are less vulnerable to security threats such as fraudulent, deceptive, or unauthorized attacks.
How does passkey work?
Passkeys are constructed using public key cryptography from the WebAuthentication (or "WebAuthn") standard. When you register an account, your device generates a unique key pair – one public and one private – for each account. The public key is shared and stored on >x<, while the private key remains on your device. Your passkey is never shared with >x< to ensure maximum security, and further reducing the likelihood of unauthorized account access.
Once you are enrolled in passkey on your device, you can log in to your account by choosing the passkey option instead of entering a traditional password. Your device will securely connect with >x< using the stored public key to authenticate your identity.
Enabling a passkey
Log in to the >x< app with the account you wish to enable passkey for.
Click Your account in the navigation bar.
Select Settings and privacy, then click Security and account access, then Security.
Under Additional password protection, click Passkey.
Enter your password when prompted.
Select Add a passkey and follow the prompts.
Delete a passkey
Log in to the >x< app with the account you wish to delete passkey for.
Click Your account in the navigation bar.
Select Settings and privacy, then click Securityand account access, then Security.
Under Additional password protection, click Passkey.
Enter your password when prompted.
Select Delete a passkey.
FAQs
Passkeys are highly encouraged to enhance your account’s security, but it is not required for login.